Connected…

The first thing I grab in the morning before I even open my eyes is my cellphone. I can’t live without it, or WiFi. My phone, tablet and laptop are my lifeline. They are my connection to the world.

Checking and replying to emails, chatting on Facebook and browsing through Twitter on my phone; listening to music on my iPod, reading a book on my Kobo… Gadgets seem to run my life.

And yet there was a time when the only way you get to hear about what’s happening with the world is through television or radio. The only way you get in touch with family and friends is through the telephone or snail mail. There was a time when Google wasn’t even a word.

But do I really want to be “unplugged” now that I know everything I want is at the tip of my fingers? Now that the world is not so big after all even though I’m thousands of miles away from my family because I get to see what’s going on with them through social media? Now that the news and the weather is updated constantly on my phone? Maybe not…yet.

Someday, perhaps, when I have everyone I love around me, that I wouldn’t mind to be disconnected to the rest of the world…

4 thoughts on “Connected…”

TALK TO ME...

