My Canda Firsts (part 1)

Ok, so I’ve already missed a lot of “firsts” to write about when I got to Canada that I’ll try to run them down as briefly as I could:

Like when I first set foot on Canada soil. Well, it wasn’t as expected coz I thought that no matter what the season was, Canada is always cold. But we came during the summer so it was surprisingly warm and nice out. A nice season for skimpy shorts (which I left back home) and flipflops (also back home) and tube tops (gone, gave them away coz I thought I wouldn’t be using them here). Well that was a lesson learned the expensive way coz I had to buy new ones.

And my first bus ride. Now that was a real treat. We had to check the bus schedule over the internet where it also told us what number buses to catch going to whatever destination. It was so cool and organized. The buses were also right on the dot and stopping only at the bus stops. But that’s the only delightful thing about them. If you haven’t memorized their website or if you’re not an expert commuter, you wouldn’t know what time your next bus is if you miss the first one, and freeze your butt off if it’s winter. You always have to rely on the schedule. That’s why cars here are a real necessity specially during winter. Only in the Philippines can you get around the metro without a car, coz there’s public transport at every corner!

And then there was my first job interview which eventually turned out to be my first job. It was nerve-racking! But I breezed through it and now I’m 1 month old here already. It’s not the same as the job I love back home, but at least the people are friendly and easy enough to get along with. And hey, I’ve got a job that doesn’t include flipping burgers or manning a cash register so, I guess I still have that to be thankful for.

More firsts to come…

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

4 thoughts on “My Canda Firsts (part 1)”

TALK TO ME...

