Of Puppies and Plants

Tired and stressed after a long day’s work, flopping myself on the couch, turning on the television and letting the puppies lick all the day’s strain off me seem to be the best way to end the day. But working for a publishing company who publishes gardening magazines has taught me a lot about plants and the joys of gardening. So now, aside from playing with the puppies, I find peace and tranquility in my beautiful house plants.

The bookshelf that has more plants than books
My first plants are also the first plants you’ll see entering the apartment
Angel’s “shrine”… I don’t even have photos in the apartment and Angel has lots!
love this plant rack I got, goes well with the rest of the stuff in the apartment
One of my faves and sits right beside my laptop
Another fave, so got a couple, one for each side table
Aren’t pink leaves just so cute?
My teenee tiny plants
My favorite princess
My little prince
19 thoughts on “Of Puppies and Plants”

  1. As a new plant momma let me just say I truly respect how good your babies look (the green ones and the furry and four legged variety). Feel free to pass along any green thumb tips. 🙂

    p.s. my cousin here in brasil is a homeopathic vet, let me know if you ever want info about truly all natural pet nutrition.

    1. Thank you! I’ve actually just finished researching all the botanical and common names of all the indoor plants I have and how to take care of them. But because my Original baby gave birth, I had to hold it off a while till I’ve tired myself out with all the puppy pictures 🙂 I have 23 different plants (though some of the same family) which is crazy! Will be posting all of them and their photos this week 🙂

  2. Yashie-
    I can help with identifying many of your plants.
    pic 1: top shelf includes Lucky Bamboo (Dracaena sanderiana), not sure, Moth orchid (Phalaenopsis), middle shelf Epipremnum aureum, Fittonia argyroneura, Epipremnum aureum ‘Marble Queen’, bottom shelf not sure
    pic 2: maybe Spathiphyllum, maybe Plumeria, Epipremnum aureum
    pic 3: Aluminum plant (Pilea cardierei), Zebra plant (Aphelandra squarrosa)
    pic 4: not sure, Dieffenbachia, Rubber Plant (Ficus elastica)
    pic 5: Schefflera
    pic 6: variegated Schefflera
    pic 7: Fittonia argyroneura
    pic 8: Peperomia obtusifolia variegated, other Peperomia, other Fittonia

    1. OMG Zach!!! you are the best!!!

      Unfortunately this is not an updated photo of my plants (I just acquired 3 new plants after I posted this, a Buddhist Pine i named “Bud”, a Jade Plant and another one labeled by that famous “Tropical Plant” tag). But you got most of the ones I couldn’t find on the net except for 1 on pic 4 together with “Ruby” the Rubber plant and “Camille” my Dieffenbachia. I guess she remains to be Jane Doe until I find her name somewhere.

      You made my life complete (well nearly complete). I can sleep better now that most of my precious plants are named. I can’t thank you enough!!

    1. Thanks Rayya! I have a feeling my little Chaos is jealous of the plants. everytime I tend to my plants he is always at my heel demanding attention! He is such a sweetheart.

    1. Thank you Bassa. The wicker-like basket is actually a bread basket I used as a “planter” for my baby plants. But all my plants are high up and out of the furry babies’ reach. I’m not sure if they are safe for them or not.

TALK TO ME...

