Winter has started… again.

The first time I experienced snow was during my first winter here in Winnipeg (you can read about my first snow blog here).  It was fascinating! Well, the cold is another thing, but seeing those feathery white stuff falling is a lovely sight. And I love how they glisten like crystals when hit at just the right angle by the sun’s glorious rays.

Taken January 2011… Look at that pile of snow!

This winter, however, is an anomaly (as most Winnipegers say) because there isn’t much snow fall yet (not that I’m complaining, though)! By this time last year we already had a mountain of plowed snow by the side of the parking area behind the office. Now, not even a hill! Christmas wasn’t as white as most of the people here hoped it would be. It was more like a dirty, mushy Christmas than a white Christmas.

For the past few weeks we’ve been having more Spring weather than the harsh -40 C that we got used to. The temp was see-sawing between 6 degrees to – 10 degrees which melts whatever snow there is on the ground.

Today however, Winter, again, has started, and beautiful, big and perfect snowflakes graced our otherwise dull coffee and smoke breaks.  I can’t wait to get home and see the nice blanket of snow in our backyard (I don’t know if I’ll feel the same when it gets too out of hand though).

8 thoughts on “Winter has started… again.”

  1. Weather Gods sure are very unpredictable nowadays.

    Off-topic: Whenever I read or hear the word “anamoly”, it always reminds me of the tv show House. hehe

TALK TO ME...

