Daily Prompt: Take care

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

Such an apt question for how I am feeling today.

How do you classify “unwell”? Is it the physical illness like having a cold or a fever? Or is it the emotional or mental state of being “unwell”?

If we are talking about the physical aspect of being unwell, I would say that I’m considerably healthy. I seldom get sick except for my occasional attacks of asthma and colds due to my allergies. I can and will still work even when suffering from a headache, body pains, and even a fever. I have a strong tolerance to pain, but it doesn’t mean I don’t complain, or that I wouldn’t allow others to take care of me. I don’t always ask for help, but when I do, I want to be pampered. And it’s that feeling of being babied that would make me ask.

When it comes to my emotional aches and pains though, I keep silent. I’ve always done a good job of hiding them, but lately I catch myself being sullen and brooding that others notice. I don’t like dealing with that darker side of me. I don’t like people asking me what’s wrong because sometimes, even I don’t know the answer.

I know that asking for help will actually “help”, but my emotional and mental state is still uncharted territory that even I wouldn’t like to explore… until I’m ready.

On a lighter note…

Waahhh Mommy! They stabbed me!!
Waahhh Mommy! They stabbed me!!

Day 2 for my Daily Prompt. Hope I get to do this everyday.

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Take care”

      1. My problem is I have more ideas than I have time to write so this keeps me disciplined so I stick to one subject per day and not my entire day filling the pages…lol

TALK TO ME...

