Daily Prompt: Parents of the Year

You’re asked to nominate someone for TIME’s Person of the Year. Who would it be, and why?

The question is a bit too vague and undefined so I will make it a bit more precise for purposes of my entry. If I were asked if I could nominate ordinary, everyday people, who has inspired, motivated and encouraged me to be the better person that I am and yet still accepted the worst version of me, I’d nominate my parents (that’s two, individual persons, but both part of a whole).

They have gone through so much. They’ve worked so hard to get us the best education that money can buy, managed to put three meals, and some, on the table for us and yet shielded us from any money problems they were having. Though they weren’t able to give us all our wants, they provided us with everything we needed. Through tough storms, they’ve kept their composure and faith and even laughed at the face of suffering and hardships. They have taught us how to love. Love God above all else, love others with patience and understanding.

I am thankful for everything that they have done to make me who I am today. I may not be the next Steve Jobs, or Bill Gates or president of even the smallest country, but I am proud of the person that they have made of me.

mama and papa

So that’s my cheesy entry for today’s Daily Prompt. And I thought it was going to get easier as I do this everyday. At least I haven’t missed a day yet since I started 🙂

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Parents of the Year”

  1. I like your nominees better than Last Year’s Time Magazine’s decision based on the canidates from last year…I am not sure how the President won over a few others. Thank you for sharing with your readers.

TALK TO ME...

