Daily Prompt: In God I trust

Describe a memory or encounter in which you considered your faith, religion, spirituality — or lack of — for the first time.

Wow, today’s Daily Prompt is heavy stuff.

GodOk, I have a personal relationship with my God and it started at an early age. It wasn’t brought about by the fact that I studied in a Catholic school or that my parents dragged us to church every Sunday, forced us to pray the rosary every chance we get or made us attend church functions and bible study and all that. My relationship with Him started inside me, by my own volition.

I guess the biggest test of faith I got was in 2009 when typhoon Ketsana/Ondoy devastated our country. Our family home got submerged underwater. It was bad! But every day we went to the house to clean up the mess, I thanked God for keeping my family safe and unharmed; every day we peeled clothes off the closets filled with mud and black water, I thanked God we still have clothes to wear; every time my parents would talk about the repairs that the house needed, I thanked God because my parents were such strong people who could laugh even during a time like that.

I believe that a person’s faith in God, whoever their God may be, is not measured by how many times they go to church, or how many times they pray every day. It’s how you live your life, accepting God’s will, seeing Him in every person you encounter every day, recognizing his goodness despite the tribulations and understanding his power.

I am His servant, and I live to serve Him.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: In God I trust”

TALK TO ME...

