Scruples

June 24 Daily Prompt: Morality Play
Where do your morals come from — your family? Your faith? Your philosophical worldview? How do you deal with those who don’t share them, or derive them from a different source?

right wrong

Technically, I got my morals from my parents who are, in turn, ruled by their faith. But as I grew older, I learned to think for myself and developed my own principles.  So, even though there are still some deep-seated lessons my parents ingrained in me; and I am still governed by my own faith, I have acquired my own set of moral codes that come from lessons that I learned along the way.

My morals are what influence my decisions, determine my course of action and shape me as a person. But it is not mine to preach. Others have their own beliefs and virtues and I respect that just as I would like them to respect mine. So I guess it’s not really about me dealing with those who don’t share my morals, it’s more about me dealing with my own conscience. “I should have tried harder to discourage her?” or “Maybe I should have talked him out of it…” is always the debate I would have with myself. But then again, I could tell them that they are wrong till I am blue in the face, if they believe otherwise, who am I to judge? At the end of the day it’s still their decision and their life to live.

TALK TO ME...

