End of Summer…

August Blues

Heck, I didn’t even want to think about August, or blues for that matter…

Anyway, back-to-school hype (which is May in the Philippines because school starts June over there) when I was a schoolbag-toting, uniform-wearing, Catholic school girl was the best part of school!

New shoes, new school bag, new books, new notebooks, new pens, oh, and did I mention how much of a sucker I am when it comes to school supplies? Plus the thought of seeing old friends and making new ones is always exciting.

But now, the thought of summer ending leaves a bad taste in my mouth. All I feel is dread as the coming months loom over my head. I know what’s coming as I see my garden starting to get tired. The prolific apple tree in our backyard, with its heavy branches drooping with fruit, starts to litter the weaker apples all over the ground. Some of the summer flowering plants are starting to hang their heads, getting ready to store their energies for next year.

Though I still get awestruck by how beautiful and colourful autumn can be, the gradual drop in temperature is like a slow freeze to my soul.

I just wish mother earth will be ever so kind this year and give us a mild winter. Please?

 

(Daily Prompt: August Blues
As a kid, were you happy or anxious about going back to school? Now that you’re older, how has your attitude toward the end of the summer evolved?)

Other Daily Prompt entries:

  1. Perspectives on life, universe and everythingAncient
  2. Perspectives on life, universe and everythingRelax, will you! 🙂
  3. From Balderdash To Epiphany.Another Season Gone
  4. Sweat, Tears and Digital InkWriting the seasons: Autumn
  5. tuckedintoacornerAmbivalent
  6. Fictions in FlashesIf I Could (Daily Prompt)
  7. Vexing PointAugust Blues
  8. psychologistmimiAs I am faced with the August Blues, It’s an honor to be nominated for the Very Inspiring Award
  9. Thoughts of a Misfit JunkieThe hues of the School Blues
  10. Designer SophisticateSummer can be too long.
  11. Pepper ConnectionSeason Change, Schedule Change?
  12. Just Writing!School Days
  13. The Undaunted Blue Madness Of My LifeAS A KID I HATED SCHOOL!
  14. Dr D in OzThe first of Warmth
  15. Cardinal GuzmanSpider Web
  16. Indira’s BlogDaily Prompt- August Blues
  17. afostinisThere and back again…
  18. Rideo, Ergo SuperoBoys of Summer
  19. yas often as we
  20. The Sunny Narrative.Back to school? Ye… uh.. nope!
  21. DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on SocietyThe sacrilege of going back to school in August
  22. A Little Fluff
  23. Scorched IceDP: Fall is Coming
  24. Mario TypesThe Holidays
  25. oneseventwentyfourteenMe and Mr Winter don’t see eye to eye
  26. Mario TypesThe Summer
  27. FlippyZipFlopNope… Don’t want to see him go.
  28. Prairie ViewsAfter Labor Day The World Changes
  29. Daily PromptSummer? I Didn’t Even Notice…
  30. Bringing worlds together in my kitchenSaved by the school bell….
  31. She’s RamblingEven more happy, School is back in Session
  32. soul n spiritCELEBRATIONS ON !!!
  33. DestinoAugust Ending: Daily Post
  34. My Simple LifeThe First Day
  35. torschlusspanikAugust Blues
  36. sarahscapesaugust blues
  37. My Journey to Find MeFall: Another Season of Change
  38. the masculine pen“The Learnings of September Now Come Early…” The Daily Post
  39. TD421Why I Like Back to School (It has nothing to do with the kids)
  40. Writer’s AbodeAugust blues : Then as a kid and now as a parent..!!
  41. Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws
  42. Moments Thru LensBack to School Days…
  43. ExposureAugust Blues
  44. Chronicles of an Anglo SwissAugust Blues – just an extension of July really.
  45. seikaiha’s blah-blah-blahAugust Blues
  46. bianca . paige . smithSeptember brings…
  47. joatmon14Thought Heard Round The World
  48. chase n chance ranchAugust Blues
  49. practicallyseriousWhy Back-to-School Season Sucks for Everybody
  50. Life HappensAugust Blues
  51. Avalon Reviews + FlashSummer’s End – A Flash Fiction
  52. Robert JepsonChange
  53. New ChapterRemembering my school years
  54. Flowers and BreezesDifferent Phases
  55. lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-BrownWaiting for the Bell
  56. Life is greatAugust Blues
  57. If I wasn’t anxious, I would be happy – Vintage 1956
  58. debooWORKSAugust Blues
  59. Traversing LinesTempus Fugit
  60. Prompt Me PleaseEnd of Summer?
  61. thinkdreamdoBack to School Haiku(s): Mother and Son
  62. Cheri SpeakBidding Adieu to Summer
  63. djgarcia94Not When You’re Homeschooled
  64. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am“Mom! I”m BORED!”
  65. Hola.Professional Student 🙂
  66. daily doses of meNegative Vibes on School
  67. writingindevizesSommer solls noch sein
  68. A lot from LydiaCheers
  69. SERENDIPITYSUMMER LIES HEAVY IN THE DEEP GREEN LEAVES
  70. Soul Curry n RiceMy school boy journey started at 21
  71. STAY AWAY, SWEET MISERYI Kinda Need That Hundred and Four Days of Summer Vacation
  72. my dearest cassandraFood for Thought (Response to August Blues Daily Prompt)
  73. Shooting StarAugust August!
  74. Spade Thoughts27.08.14 – Back to School
  75. My Daily MinefieldDeath Knell for Freedom aka 1st Day
9 thoughts on “End of Summer…”

  1. I live in Florida where it seems the winter is always mild, if it can be called winter. I’d be happy to swap winters with you for the year. 🙂

    1. Our last winter here in Winnipeg, Canada was the worst in decades! a real record breaker in terms of temps (-20C that feels like -40C) and amount of snow. It was horrible! I wouldn’t wish that on you, even for just a year 🙂

      1. Haha! I wouldn’t leave my house if I ever had to go through that. I am not a native Floridian, but I have lived here more than half of my life. I couldn’t imagine a winter like that. I do wish for you a much more milder winter. 🙂

TALK TO ME...

